15.11.2019
18:30

DATELINE

GUIDEMAPS

INPHORMM

SPUTNIC

TAPESTRY

TRANSPLUS

VOYAGER

Switching To Public Transport

Switching to Public Transport

Switching to Public Transport

Switching to public transport has been an innovative action in many respects: It has confirmed in practice the new "customer consciousness" that has been developing in the public transport industry over the last few years.

Following the EUROBAROMETER study in 1991, the research showed that the public's attitude to public transport was very favourable. However, this was not reflected in their behaviour. That is to say, most people like to think of "other people using public transport" but not themselves. However, in the last years everyone is having to face up to the mobility crisis particularly in our urban areas, and this has included having to change habits and our chosen mode of transport.

Socialdata has been active in research on mobility behaviour for almost 40 years now - and ever since all results show that - in terms of increasing public transport patronage - subjective ("soft") factors (system perception) are as important as objective ("hard") factors (actual system).

Follow these findings, Socialdata has developed an innovative marketing approach called "Individualised marketing". The concept of individualised marketing had been tested in a number of pilot projects and had proven to be highly successful. The Switching to Public Transport experiment, with over fourty operators in Europe, shows that effective marketing in Public transport can increase very convincingly the level of ridership. The experiment has been made in partnership with UITP members and Socialdata.

The results show that marketing can have a positive effect on getting people to "Switch to Public Transport": If properly applied, personalised encouragement / motivation and information lead to considerable increases in public transport patronage.

It is interesting to note from the results, that a great potential for increasing the patronage of Public Transport lies in off-peak times, by the infrequent users of Public Transport, but not with the people who never used Public Transport. This means patronage can be increased if the two are made in parallel. The increased patronage comes from customers who, in general, are not reluctant to use the system, but they need additional motivation and advice that enables them to make more trips by public transport.

The Switching to public transport report not only presents the results of a successful international demonstration project but an important marketing tool for the new century: It offers a clear and concise introduction to Individualised Marketing, adapted to the public transport industry.

The report is available in two parts - the report and the technical handbook. The report covers the general concept of individualised marketing while the technical handbook goes into greater detail about the projects and some individual members of the experiment give their views and comments on the how effective the actions were.

Every part of the report can be ordered separately at the UITP .

© Socialdata 2019

Disclaimer  Disclaimer

Impressum  Impressum

Sitemap  Sitemap

24.10.2017

DATELINE

GUIDEMAPS

INPHORMM

SPUTNIC

TAPESTRY

TRANSPLUS

VOYAGER

Switching To Public Transport

Switching to Public Transport

Switching to Public Transport

Switching to public transport war in mehrfacher Hinsicht ein innovatives Unternehmen: Es hat in der Praxis die neue Kundenorientierung bestätigt, die in den letzten Jahren in der Personenbeförderung Einzug gehalten hat.

Im Nachgang zur EUROBAROMETER-Studie aus dem Jahr 1991 hat die Forschung gezeigt, dass die öffentliche Meinung den ÖPNV sehr hoch einschätzt. Dies hat sich im Verhalten der Menschen jedoch keineswegs wiedergespiegelt. Demzufolge glauben die meisten Menschen offenbar, dass jeweils die meisten anderen den ÖPNV benutzen, sie selbst tun dies jedoch nicht. Allerdings dürfte in den letzten Jahren besonders in den Ballungsräumen nahezu jede und jeder einmal mit der Krise der Mobilität konfrontiert gewesen sein, und dies sollte zu einer Änderung des Verhaltens und der Verkehrsmittelwahl beigetragen haben.

Socialdata ist nunmehr seit fast 40 Jahren in der Mobilitätsforschung tätig - und seitdem zeigen alle Ergebnisse immer wieder, dass - im Hinblick auf eine zunehmende ÖPNV-Nutzung - subjektive ("soft") Aspekte (System-Wahrnehmung) genauso bedeutsam sind wie objektive ("hard") Faktoren (das eigentliche System).

Auf Grundlage dieser Erkenntnisse hat Socialdata einen innovativen Marketing-Ansatz entwickelt, das sogenannte "Individualisierte Marketing". Das Konzept des individualiserten Marketing ist in einer Vielzahl von Pilot-Projekten getestet worden und hat sich als höchst erfolgreich erwiesen. Das Switching to Public Transport - Experiment, zusammen mit über 40 Verkehrsunternehmen aus ganz Europa, zeigt, dass effektives Marketing für den ÖPNV den Nutzungsgrad überzeugend zu steigern vermag. Dieses Experiment ist in Zusammenarbeit der UITP mit Socialdata durchgeführt worden.

Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass Marketing positive Effekte haben kann wenn es darum geht, die Menschen dazu zu bewegen, auf den ÖPNV umzusteigen: Bei sorgfältiger Anwendung führen Ermutigung / Motivation und Information zu einem nennenswerten Anstieg bei der ÖPNV-Nutzung.

Besonders interessant an den Ergebnissen ist die Tatsache, dass ein großes Potential zur Steigerung der ÖPNV-Nutzung in den Off-peak Zeiten und bei den Gelegenheitsnutzern schlummert - allerdings nicht bei denjenigen, die den ÖPNV niemals nutzen. Dies bedeutet, dass die ÖPNV-Nutzung gesteigert werden kann, indem das Marketing an beiden Merkmalen parallel ausgerichtet wird. Die gesteigerte Nutzung kommt von Kunden, die im allgemeinen dem ÖPNV gegenüber nicht abgeneigt sind, jedoch zusätzliche Motivation und Beratung brauchen, die es ihnen ermöglicht, mehr Wege mit dem ÖPNV zurückzulegen.

Der Switching to Public Transport - Bericht stellt nicht nur die Ergebnisse eines erfolgreichen internationalen Demonstrationsprojekts dar, sondern beschreibt auch ein wichtiges Marketing-Instrument für das neue Jahrhundert: Er bietet eine klare und genaue Einführung in individualisiertes Marketing, angepasst an den ÖPNV.

Der ausschließlich in englischer Sprache verfügbare vollständige Bericht besteht aus zwei Teilen: Aus dem inhaltlichen Bericht und dem technischen Handbuch. Der Bericht umfasst das allgemeine Konzept des individuslisierten Marketing, während das Handbuch bezüglich der einzelnen Projekte die Einzelheiten ausführlicher darstellt sowie einige individuelle Anmerkungen von Teilnehmern darüber enthält, wie wirksam die jeweilige Aktion war.

Bericht und Handbuch können (auch einzeln) bei der UITP bestellt werden.

© Socialdata 2017

Disclaimer  Disclaimer

Impressum  Impressum

Sitemap  Sitemap